September 1, 2019

Welcome to Third Grade!

Hello and welcome to third grade! My name is Sarah Kalis, and I am absolutely thrilled to be your child’s teacher! Your child’s education is a partnership between home and school, and I look forward to working with you. If you ever have a question or a comment for me, please send me an email or text (via Remind), write me a note, talk with me at dismissal, or call the school. The best way to get ahold of me is by email. My email address is kalis@appublicschools.com and the school’s phone number is 313-827 -1050.

Be sure to also check out my weekly blog so that you can stay apprised of the happenings in our third grade classroom. My goal is to update on a weekly basis posting on Fridays or Mondays. I will send out an email with the link to the updated blog so you are reminded and can easily take a look. This blog also allows me to post helpful links, videos, and pictures.

I look forward to meeting each parent and getting to know every child! We are going to have a wonderful year together!


Meet the Teacher

As mentioned above, my name is Sarah Kalis. This will be my 10th year teaching in Allen Park. In recent years, I have been a fourth grade teacher at Arno, but I am excited to return this year teaching third grade where I initially began my teaching career. This summer I spent time traveling with friends and family exploring our wonderful state of Michigan. I even tried something new…camping in a tent, and I survived!  During the school year, I enjoy spending time reading or having fun with my family: my husband, two daughters, and our golden retriever.


First Day of School

School starts on Tuesday, September 3rd, at 8:30am. On the first day of school, our class will line up, outside, by Door Number 7 on Markese Street. Please drop your child off at door number 7 between 8:20 and 8:30am. Please do not drop your child off unattended before this time for safety reasons. The first day of school is a half day and dismissal is at 11:30am. Students will exit the same door, door number 7, at 11:30am. Please email me how (car, bus, walk) and who will be picking up your child on the first day of school.

In third grade, many parents stay outside and give their goodbye hugs and kisses before their child enters the school. If you do choose to walk with your child into the school, please allow your child to walk into the classroom independently. When your child walks into the room, they will be instructed to put their backpack on their assigned desk and sit at the carpet. We will go through our backpacks and learn our cubby numbers, but not right away. Please feel free to share this information with your child.

 


Suggested School Supplies for Mrs. Kalis’ Classroom

It is not mandatory to bring in school supplies, however, many families enjoy participating in this annual ritual.

Student Supplies (please label with child’s name):

  • Backpack (No wheels, we do not have enough space in our cubbies.)
  • Eraser
  • Scissors
  • Crayons
  • Small Pencil Case
  • Spiral Notebook
  • Colored Pencils
  • Black Sharpie
  • Headphones/Earbuds
  • Glue Stick
  • Red Pens
  • Dry Erase Markers

Classroom Supplies (no need to label):

  • Disinfecting Wipes (Clorox, Lysol, etc)
  • Kleenex
  • Pencils
  • Girls-1 Box of Ziploc Sandwich Bags
  • Boys-1 Box of Ziploc Gallon Bags

Due to limited space in the classroom, please do not have your child bring in “knick-knacks” or unnecessary items to school. Your help with this is greatly appreciated!

 


Special Classes

Special Class Time-11:20am to 12:10pm

  • Monday- Media Literature (in the library)
  • Tuesday- Music
  • Wednesday- Gym, Students need to wear tennis shoes on Wednesdays.
  • Thursday- Media Technology (in the computer lab)
  • Friday- Art

Lunch- 12:30pm to 1:10pm

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *